top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Epperson

02/22/2019

It was such a great day today teaching the 1st graders at Stanley. We did the long vowel review game lesson plan that I created. The students were very engaged with the lesson and had so much fun doing so. We added an element of writing the word out in their journal and drawing the arrow from their e to the vowel to remind themselves when they read to make the vowel say it's name. By the end of the lesson, the students were saying the new words without having to sound out each letter's sound before. It is so encouraging to see the amazing progress these students have made with reading. I am excited to teach Special Education someday because though it may take longer for some students to grasp a lesson, when they do accomplish the lesson and learn the new concept, so much joy fills both my heart and the students' hearts. I also found out that my teacher will be absent on Tuesday for a training, and I will get to teach the 1st graders their lesson on vowels while she is away. I am so thankful for my time at Stanley and all the great things I have been learning from the mentor teacher I am blessed to learn from.


To view this lesson plan, please visit here: https://ajepperson2.wixsite.com/portfolio/lesson-plans



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

04/26/2019

Unfortunately, today was my last day at Harmony Elementary. This made me very sad to leave this wonderful group of paras and students. I made thank you notes for my teacher and the paras I worked with

04/24/2019

Today we went to a conference at Hilltop from Pitt State. I went to a session about an app called "Text Help". It is a chrome extension that helps students become better readers and writers. It is use

04/23/2019

This is my last week at Harmony Elementary, which means I am graduating very soon. I helped with the first graders I normally work with. I love the relationships I am forming with them. It is amazing

bottom of page