top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Epperson

02/21/2019

Today at CAPS during class work time, I worked hard to finish and prepare a lesson I will teach to a small group of 1st grade students tomorrow. These students are learning to read words with the long vowel sound/silent "e" at the end. I absolutely adore working with these students. They both are so hungry to learn and make me excited to teach them. I created a homemade board-game that I have been told looks a bit like Candy Land. In the game, one student will begin by drawing a card. Each card has a word with a long vowel sound and a shape on the reverse side. Once the student writes and reads the word correctly, they move their game piece to the nearest shape the card showed. After this, the next student will do the same with a new word. I have never created a lesson plan before with a game aspect, so it has been an amazing experience to compose one. It is my hope that the students will love playing the game and it would also help them practice reading skills.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

04/26/2019

Unfortunately, today was my last day at Harmony Elementary. This made me very sad to leave this wonderful group of paras and students. I made thank you notes for my teacher and the paras I worked with

04/24/2019

Today we went to a conference at Hilltop from Pitt State. I went to a session about an app called "Text Help". It is a chrome extension that helps students become better readers and writers. It is use

04/23/2019

This is my last week at Harmony Elementary, which means I am graduating very soon. I helped with the first graders I normally work with. I love the relationships I am forming with them. It is amazing

bottom of page